Becoming Sleek

Review: Happy Skin Shut Up and Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippie in The Morning After

Posted on: September 30, 2014

Things have been rather hectic at work for me recently and I’ve not been able to find the time to take photos for reviews. Thankfully I’m able to squeeze this review in. I got this Happy Skin Shut Up and Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippie from the birthday haul from my MIL last month. I chose the shade The Morning After because 1) I wanted to explore more nude shades 2) It seemed pretty popular with bloggers (bad reason to buy!) and 3) It was limited edition (even worse reason to buy!). If I recall correctly, this costs Php549 and I got it from the Beauty Bar branch at Eastwood.

themorningafter3

First of all I would like to comment that I really like the look of this tube. It is of course of the twist-up crayon type but I am quite attracted to the pink-and-silver theme. It’s slightly longer than most lipstick tubes though, so it’s a little less portable because of that. The cap also has a slight feel of it-might-come-off-in-your-bag, although I never had that actually happen.

themorningafter4

Let’s talk about the shade. The Morning After is described as pink-mauve with a hint of beige, mauvey-rose, and mauvey-brown by three of my favorite bloggers. It basically points to an MLBB (my lips but better) shade, and my at-the-counter-swatch showed that it would suit me. Check out my arm swatch below.

themorningafter5

As you can see, it comes out as pretty reddish on my arm. I think this is because my arm is a lot fairer (and yellower, I think) than my face, and pulls out a lot of red. This is two swipes of The Morning After. It’s pretty pigmented and the finish looks satiny.

themorningafter1

On my lips it’s a different matter. It really comes out as being pretty much pinkish mauve, and the finish leans more matte. It does accentuate some of my dry patches (upper lip).

themorningafter2

Other items on face: Catrice Matt Mousse Make Up in Light Beige, In2It Eyebrow PowderEllana Minerals Mesmer-Eyes Eyeshadow Quad, Pixy Waterproof Mascara, Canmake Cheek&Cheek in 07 Orange Bouquet

The formula itself is pretty good. According to the write up on their website, SUaKM Lippies have shea butter and collagen to keep lips well hydrated. Even if it is practically matte on me, I find that it doesn’t dry out my lips or exacerbate my dry patches. It lasts pretty much until you have to drink (and definitely eat), after which you will probably need to reapply.

Pros: great MLBB shade; easily available

Neutral: price

Cons: not very long-lasting; limited edition

Happy Skin is available in Beauty Bar, Plains & Prints, and Rustan’s The Beauty Source, and at their website. I have no information on Happy Skin’s stance on animal testing.

6 Responses to "Review: Happy Skin Shut Up and Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippie in The Morning After"

I think I wanna try one of these lippies, but I don’t. Err I’m soooo torn

You should try swatching it just to see if you like the formula. 🙂

I really want the set but apparently, it’s limited edition. Oh well. I’m sure they’ll push one out for Christmas.

To be honest I thought it would be phased out by now, since it’s a “summer” limited edition thing. I wanted the whole set as well since that box really looks good, kaso TMA is the only shade I like.

Lovely shade. One of my fave lippies and always a-must-in-my-vanity-kit is my lippie from Happy Skin, but in a different shade. I was thinking of buying this one too pero I feel like my lippies are mostly somewhere near this shade. 😛

I’m pretty happy I got this one, but it looks like I really paid a premium to get a limited edition shade. I should try out some of their permanent ones. What shade did you get?

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 105,509 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
