Becoming Sleek

Rave: Catrice Matt Mousse Make Up in Light Beige

Posted on: September 16, 2014

First, an aside on hauls: I don’t really post my hauls anymore, mostly for two reasons. One is that I don’t really haul new things lately (I’m on a spend “ban”!), and two, sometimes I think that maybe my haul posts are pretty boring. I would just review the items I bought that I think is worth reviewing. What do you think?

Moving on to more exciting things! Ever since I saw V’s post about Catrice being available here in the Philippines, I’ve always wanted to try finding it. I spent a miserable two months stalking SM Makati and Watsons Greenbelt 1 but no signs of Catrice. About a week ago I happened to be in SM North The Block and of course I dropped by Watsons there (mostly to buy other things tbh; my Bifesta needed replenishment). Lo and behold, I finally found a Catrice counter!! Given that I was on a strict budget and I wasn’t really planning on finding Catrice there, I limited myself to one item. Believe me, that was pretty hard, I wanted to buy things like eyeshadows and nail polish!

catricematt4

With the help of the Catrice SA, I selected this pretty interesting base called Matt Mousse Make Up. It’s supposed to be a sort of cream foundation that sets into a powder finish. Quite an interesting idea! I swatched it on my arm and personally witnessed this transformation. The SA insisted that the lightest shade was the one that fit me best; the next one seemed indeed a little too dark. The price sealed the deal: it was only Php379 (or something like that; basta below 400)! I got the shade 011 Light Beige.

catricematt5

My sister-in-law was with me at the time, and said that it looked quite similar to Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse, which I never tried. Catrice Matt Mousse Make Up claims to result to even finish and invisible pores and lines. I immediately tested it out as soon as I got home. And several more times in the next few days!

catricematt6

I really love how this feels on the face! It’s very cushy, and quite pleasurable to apply because of the cream-to-powder aspect. There’s a sort of play factor going on that makes putting foundation on quite fun. The biggest downside I can see is of course the glass tub. I just make sure that I use clean fingers when applying this. I have not tried using a brush (because I have no idea what kind of brush to use) or sponge.

catricematt7

Above is the arm swatch, first just a swipe. It’s very thick but airy.

catricematt8

Then the blended. It looks a bit too pink and dark here on my arm, which means either my arms are too fair or I put on too much product. Let’s see how it looks on my face.

catricematt1

Here’s my bare face.

catricematt2

And here’s one layer of Catrice Matt Mousse Make Up. Ok now it seems too light? I don’t know what’s going on anymore. I can work with this though, and again I really like how it feels on the skin. I also used it here on my lids as a primer; you can see the yellowish tint on my bare lids practically disappear.

catricematt3

Here’s my face with the rest of my makeup on. Maybe it needed a bit of setting in, but I think here it looks much closer to my original skin tone. How did it perform on the pores and lines? It did do some blurring action but did not completely cover them.  Perhaps if I put on another layer it would cover them some more.

Other items on face: Ellana Minerals Eyebrow/Eyeshadow Quad (brows), Ellefar Princess Eyeshadow Quad (lids), Pixy Waterproof Mascara (lashes), Daiso Special! Mix Cheek Powder in Magic Color (cheeks), Ofra Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Laguna Beach (lips)

Catrice is happily cruelty-free! At their price I think this is going to be my go-to drugstore makeup brand! The Matt Mousse Make Up is Php379 (I think) for 16 grams of product.

Pros: cruelty-free; very affordable; matte foundation; relatively long lasting

Cons: glass tub; limited availability for now

10 Responses to "Rave: Catrice Matt Mousse Make Up in Light Beige"

It did remind me of Maybelline mousse foundation. 🙂
Maybe mini-hauls? I do get self-conscious showing off my hauls because of the small amounts. I’m not one to shop for 5-10 items at a time. I’m more of a 1-3 item shopper. Mostly just 1. Or maybe do a haul post by month?

I did the monthly haul way back. I guess it worked back when I was really buying a lot of stuff but lately I don’t buy so much anymore. Maybe it makes more sense to do haul posts now since I would only buy at most three items when I shop. 😀

Just what I was thinking. I did stop writing shopping posts for a time. And then I started writing about it again to monitor my stuff. Recently started just listing my purchases down on my phone. I think it’s better that way. I might quit purge and purchases soon.

But you know, many of your shopping stories are very interesting. Like the one on Daiso. You got awesome drugstore finds. Maybe if it’s a rare find, still write about them. I find writing about purchases boring. But when I found out about T LeClerc. I want to share it to everybody! Because no one’s writing about it. 😀

I do miss the idea that I have a built in record of what I have (and bought) through the haul posts. At least it’s easy to search, kelan ko nga ba binili to? I just thought that maybe my long haul posts are too long and boring.

Shopping stories though! That sounds pretty..well, exciting? 😛 Maybe ganun nalang what I’ll do. Thanks for the idea!

Wow cruelty-free pala sila? Awesomeeee!

Everybody’s getting some Catrice goodies but me! Huhu 😦 I keep hoping SM Makati will have it one day

I hope so too! It’s kinda weird that they don’t have it there since it’s one of the biggest SM Beauty sections I’ve seen.

I need thiiiis! Well, not really hahaha. I actually thought about buying this as well when I bought the foundation. Sayang din naman kasi yung punta ko sa SM Manila (layo lang kasi guuurl) tapos isa lang bibilhin ko di baaaa. But then, wala akong pera at ayaw na kong bilhan ni Jess so boohuhuhu 😦 Lol sad lang about the coverage tho. But on days when I don’t want to put on full-coverage makeup, this will do. Plus I like the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse (just hate the fact that it transfers, errr).

[…] items on face: Catrice Matt Mousse Make Up in Light Beige, In2It Eyebrow Powder, Ellana Minerals Mesmer-Eyes Eyeshadow Quad, Pixy Waterproof […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 112,862 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
