Becoming Sleek

5 Lessons Learned from the Nars MUA

Posted on: June 20, 2014

A few weeks ago I attended a beauty talk held at Rustan’s Makati by NARS MUA Albert Kurniawan. It was a little difficult because I was seated almost at the very back and couldn’t really see what he was doing to the model. I was, however, able to take photos of the final looks. I will share with you the 5 key lessons I took away from that talk, and in between you will see photos of the event.

narsworkshop1

Before the event started. It was a full house!

1. Apply powder first before foundation.

This was a little counter-intuitive for me, as I’ve always applied foundations first before the setting powder. If I remember correctly, the reason for this is somewhat similar to the idea of face primers. It’s to even out the surface of the skin so that the foundation will be able to go on smoothly.

MUA explaining while demonstrating on a model

MUA explaining while demonstrating on a model

2. Don’t extend blush too far back up the cheek bones.

This is a little no-brainer, but we do experience that sometimes. In our zeal in applying blush, we sweep up the cheekbones a little too far. It becomes a little unnatural, since normally people’s flushed faces only show the red on the apples of the cheeks.

The finished Day Look. Neutral shadows and pink gloss.

The finished Day Look. Neutral shadows and pink gloss.

3. If layering mascaras, apply volumizing mascara first before the lengthening mascara.

Do you layer mascaras? I’ve only tried that a few times and I’ve tested variations of which mascara to put on first. It seems true that it’s better to put on the volumizing one first so that the lengthening mascara will be something to hold on to.

The finished Evening Look. A light smokey eye and coral lip.

The finished Evening Look. A light smokey eye and coral lip.

4. When defining brows, use a darker color on the outer arch of the brow.

Now this is something completely new to me. The MUA said that it looks more natural for the brows to go progressively darker as you move from the middle of the face outwards. I’m testing this out currently, so I can’t really comment on whether this is true or not.

Day and Evening looks

Day and Evening looks, with a close up on the eye makeup

5. Sweep powder over the finished eye makeup.

When I heard this, I thought it made a lot of sense. Do we not apply setting powder to our face after application of foundation? Then it should follow that we need to set the eye makeup as well with the same powder, doesn’t it? Lazy me though hasn’t done this yet; but then I only regularly put on neutral eyeshadow so it doesn’t matter yet. I intend to try this out when I do more colorful eye looks.

Me with the MUA Albert

Me with the MUA Albert Kurniawan

There you have it! Btw, I attended the event with Rae of Scatterbraintures and her friend.

narsworkshop2 narsworkshop3

Do you agree with the above ideas?

Tags:

10 Responses to "5 Lessons Learned from the Nars MUA"

You look so cute ! 😀

Got a lot of tips from this workshop! Fun 😀

Workshops like these are really worth it! 😀

Oooh. Some of these tips are completely new to me. I’ll try them. 🙂

Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

2,3 & 5 are new to me! Great tips! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 107,696 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
