Becoming Sleek

Haul and Swatches: Pixi Cosmetics

Posted on: April 8, 2014

Ever since Glamourbox started featuring the brand Pixi on their Boutique, I’ve always wondered if they were any good. I couldn’t really tell just judging from the product shots, and online reviews were pretty inconclusive. What was stopping me was that they seemed a little expensive to just try on a whim. What was pushing me to buy was that I loved the Tinted Brilliance Balm (Magic Tink Tint) they included in the April Glamourbox last year (OMG it’s been a year already!) and I honestly wanted to get more of those. I envy Kira’s collection!

What finally convinced me to take the plunge is 1. Glamourbox had a pretty tempting offer (get their new Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm free for every 2k purchase of Pixi products) and 2. Iana of The Beauty Bee blogged about her purchase which turned out to be the exact list of things I wanted to get! So here’s what I got:

pixihaul01

From left to right I got my freebie Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm in Ripe Raspberry, the Pixi Mesmerizing Mineral Palette in Copper Peach, and of course I got my second Tinted Brilliance Balm this time in the shade Craving Coral. I wanted to also get the third in Iana’s list, the Brow Duo, but unfortunately at the time of my order it was sold out. I instead got another Tinted Brilliance Balm to give to a bestie.

Let me show you each of these items. First we have the Pixi Mesmerizing Mineral Palette in Copper Peach. It has six neutral but shimmery shades in the palette, and it comes with its own dual ended sponge applicator. The palette itself is a little quirky, as its hinges open at the short side instead of the long side as in the usual palettes. This costs Php620.

pixihaul04 pixihaul05 pixihaul07

Here’s the stuff written on the box. Important to note that this has 5.76 grams of product total.

pixihaul02 pixihaul03

I’ve designated numbers for each of the shades as there were no shade names included. It will also make it easier to know which shade I am talking about in any future FOTD I may use this in.

pixihaul06

And here are the arm swatches. They are all two swipes each, with the top row having no primer and the bottom row has a swipe of primer (Artdeco Eyeshadow Base) underneath. This is a larger than normal photo so you can click on the photo for a bigger version.

pixihaul17

As you can see, shade 1 is barely noticeable on my skin. This will probably end up as some sort of highlighter. Shades 2 and 4 are almost indistinguishable, but in person shade 4 is more peach. Shade 3 is a matte brown that looks a lot darker in the pan but is actually pretty soft. Shade 5 is very coppery red, and shade 6 leans metallic brown. I’ve used this in my FOTD last weekend, and I am liking this palette so far.

Next we have Pixi Tinted Brilliance Balm in Craving Coral. I wanted to have something non-red (most of my recent new lippies are reds) and I thought I’d try a coral shade. It comes in this cute box with some information on the sides. I apologize for the blurriness of the ingredient list. This costs Php790.

pixihaul08 pixihaul09 pixihaul10

The tube is the same one as my first Brilliance Balm, but without the Tinkerbell design. Also the cap seems to be sturdier this time around. It has a band of coral around the twist end. It has 3 grams of product. The shade Craving Coral is tamer than I imagined it to be. Almost peach and not a dramatic coral at all. I love it!

pixihaul11 pixihaul12 pixihaul13

Lastly we have the newly released (here, anyway) Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm, and the shade I received is Ripe Raspberry. The nature of the freebie is that you don’t get to choose what you’ll receive. To me this is quite exciting, and I am so happy with the shade I received! Ripe raspberry is quite a strong red in the tube, and is quite as strong on the lips. The tube itself is a very appealing hot pink-and-mint green combo. It has 4 grams of product. This costs Php420.

pixihaul14 pixihaul15 pixihaul16

And here are the swatches of the two lip balms. The Ripe Raspberry doesn’t look all that red here to be honest. I really like both a lot, although it is the Ripe Raspberry that made it into my bag. I wouldn’t mind getting more shades of these!

pixihaul18 pixihaul19

Here are some photos of me wearing the lip balms. This is me wearing Ripe Raspberry.

pixihaul20

And this is me wearing Craving Coral.

fotd-erzshoot2

Pixi is available at the Glamourbox Boutique, Ava.ph, some select Snoe branches, and Commonthread at Greenbelt 5. Pixi is cruelty-free.

4 Responses to "Haul and Swatches: Pixi Cosmetics"

Hi Pat!!! I haven’t even swatched the palettes myself, I’m so hung up on the Tinted Brilliance Balms 😀 How do you like the Shea Butter Balms?

OMG I love it! I want more shades!

I’m not big on eyeshadows, but I LOVE the lippie you got! The peachy shade is absolutely pretty. Gotta love that freebie as well. 🙂

I’m addicted to both lippies and eyeshadows, woe be to my wallet! 😦 😀

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 630 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 110,027 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
