Becoming Sleek

Review: Eye of Horus Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil and Natural Smokey Eye Pencil

Posted on: February 19, 2014

I had originally intended to publish separate reviews for these two eye pencils, but the inner lazy in me reared up its ugly head. Presenting my combined review of the two Eye of Horus eye pencils that I have: the Natural Smokey Eye Pencil, and the Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil.

Eye of Horus is an Australian company that focuses on using natural waxes and oils in their products. The aim is to make sensitive-skin-friendly eye products, and their company tagline is “to awaken the goddess in every woman”. Each of their eye pencils (as well as the mascara and eyeliner) costs Php990.

eyeofhorus01 eyeofhorus06

The have the same length, and both come with a smudger on the opposite end of the pencil. The one with the gold cap is the Natural Smokey Eye Pencil while the one with the brown cap (which is almost indistinguishable from the black caps btw) is the Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil.

eyeofhorus02 eyeofhorus05

A close up of the pencils show the branding near the pencil side and the name of the product on the smudger side. For the Natural Smokey Eye, it has the following on the back: “Long wearing liner pencil for exotic eyes; With Mango & Jojoba Oil PARABEN FREE” and the shade which is black.

eyeofhorus03 eyeofhorus04

For the Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil, the name of the product is the one near the pencil side while the branding is on the smudger side. At the back it states “Smoothest velvet waterproof formula glides without smudging. Long Lasting. PARABEN FREE” and the shade (in case it wasn’t clear) which is brown.

eyeofhorus07

Here are the swatches on my arm. As you can see, the Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil is a very dark brown and is actually almost black. The nice thing about these pencils is that once they set, they stay put! The not-so-nice thing about these pencils though not a fault of theirs is that I find it hard to use. No matter how much I try, I could not get a thin line from these pencils even newly sharpened. I would admit however that a majority of that is my decided inexpertise on lining my eyes.

eyeofhorus08

Here is my attempt on lining my eyes with the Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil. It’s a little cringeworthy, as you can see some uneven blobs of it in the middle. I smudged it with the smudger end to help it set. If I didn’t, I would get even more blobs of product but in the middle of my lid (thanks, hooded eyes).

eyeofhorus09

It kind of looks better when my eyes are opened. Or so I would like to believe! Some people have told me you can use these pencils for a smokey-eye effect (even the colored ones!) but I haven’t tried that yet. All in all I really like these pencils, even if I am not using them to their maximum potential. I would really like to collect these, especially the Teal Malachite and Emerald Tabula ones. I’m also excited as they will be releasing their eyeshadow palettes soon!

Eye of Horus is available through the Glamourbox Boutique and selected Snoe Beauty kiosks. EoH is cruelty-free.

Pros: very pigmented; long-lasting; waterproof; cruelty-free

Cons: expensive, a little difficult to find/purchase

11 Responses to "Review: Eye of Horus Nubian Brown Goddess Pencil and Natural Smokey Eye Pencil"

If they’re as eye friendly as they claim themselves to be, I’d try one! Because I like tight-lining, lining in between lashes or inner part. I know I shouldn’t, but I like the effect so I try to do it only every now and then. xD

I haven’t tried tightlining myself (I’m scared, haha!) but I think this would be the perfect pencil to do it with.

I’ve read really good reviews about eye of horus products. glad to know that they are worth buying. but I’d still skip it, too expensive for me…hehe
btw, I’m a new follower of your blog. added you to my blogroll.
Random Beauty by Hollie

EoH products really are quite an investment. I’m hoping that their eyeshadows won’t be too steep. Thanks so much for following! I’ve had you on my rss feed for some time too. 🙂

Considering you have hooded eyes (like I do), this must be good. But try kanebo waterproof gel pencil eyeliner din. It’s quite great for less than Php 600. I used to buy expensive liners pero ngayon, I’m setting my limit to Php 600 and below. Ok, dapat Php 500 but Kanebo is that good. Hahaha

Oooh I haven’t tried gel eyeliners yet, thanks for the recommendation! EoH is really steep considering it’s a pencil eyeliner (local ones are under 200!).

The label just says gel, pero retractable pencil sya. They have black and dark brown. My 14 yo niece uses it too, she likes to look emo haha.

Yeahp use them to create smokey looks. It also solves your straight-line insecurities! Though tbh, I found these really hard to smudge.

Sigh. It’s one of those that I’m still scared to try (smokey looks). I fear I’ll end up looking like I just lost a boxing match.

i’m trying to convince myself to buy this eyeliner. i’ve been looking for a great pencil eyeliner and so far, this has the best reviews from Pinay bloggers. it’s quite expensive pero i have high hopes for this!

http://kikaysimaria.blogspot.com/

It’s kinda high end, true. I think it’s worth it though, highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 105,450 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
