Becoming Sleek

Swatches: Ever Bilena Shade Lipstick

Posted on: February 15, 2014

As soon as I’ve heard from Monika of Mom Gone Vain, I knew I wanted to try these out for myself. These are newly released lipsticks from Ever Bilena, the ubiquitous Filipino drugstore cosmetics brand. They don’t seem to have a proper name right now, so I’m going to follow Monika’s lead and call them Shade Lipsticks (you’ll see why later). There are a lot of shades of this, and here you see I’ve swatched about ten of them. I ended up choosing two: Red Vixen and Flaring Cranberry.

ebshade9

Both of these have a moisturizing center, very reminiscent of the Avon Shine Attract Lipsticks but reversed. Red Vixen has a white center while Flaring Cranberry has a dark one. I could still not tell the difference between those centers beyond the colors. Red Vixen also has the “Shade Lipstick” marking on its tube, while Flaring Cranberry only has a plain white tube. Red Vixen has 3.9 grams of product, while Flaring Cranberry has 3.7 grams. Here is the amazing part: both are Php95 each!

ebshade1 ebshade2 ebshade3

Red Vixen is a semi-matte bright red shade. Flaring Cranberry is a very dark pink, almost red, with some shimmer. It leans more on the shiny side compared to Red Vixen. Here is the swatch on my arm.

ebshade8

Here is Red Vixen on my lips. It’s a very red shade, and looks really matte up close. It has a tendency to settle into the lines. It also smells much like every other EB lipstick – that synthetic lipstick scent.

ebshade4 ebshade6

Here is Flaring Cranberry on my lips. It appears almost red, but it’s actually a really deep pink. The shimmers are quite apparent, especially in person. Surprisingly, it doesn’t have that traditional lipstick scent. It smells very fruity, and reminds me strongly of those “Kiss” scent beads when we were kids (90s kids in the house! fistbump!).

ebshade5 ebshade7

What do you think? Not a bad set of lipsticks! Never mind the really cheap packaging, this is really a worthwhile buy for Php95. I’m thinking of collecting the rest of the collection!

I don’t have information on Ever Bilena’s animal testing policies. You can learn more about their products here.

6 Responses to "Swatches: Ever Bilena Shade Lipstick"

I think the ones with the clear center is called Shine Lipsticks. They have a glossy finish. The ones with a white center have a semi-matte finish. 🙂

Hi Monika! Thank you for the info (and the recos)! I’ll update the entries. 😀

Mare maganda pictures mo dito! Mas malinaw and color-accurate. Anyway, I wish FS got more adventurous with color selection. I want to try purples and oranges but it’d be better to check with inexpensive brands first before I splurge on the luxury counterparts 😛

Thanks mare! I actually just realized that I have a much better lighting situation in my bathroom! Haha! I agree with EB shades, puro red eh!

[…] Swatches: Ever Bilena Shade Lipstick […]

[…] Here’s the finished face, with makeup. I used the following products: BYS Brow & Eye Pencil for brows; Saizen Eye Shadow in Brown for eyeshadow and eyeliner; Nichido Final Powder in So Natural for finishing powder; Ever Bilena Shade Lipstick in Flaring Cranberry […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 107,517 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
