Becoming Sleek

Nails: Inadvertent Brocade

Posted on: January 31, 2014

Isn’t life interesting? I find that even when you don’t plan things, something good happens. I am quite the planning freak, so I do freak out when events cause sudden changes in my schedule. I’m trying to improve though, as this is not a really healthy reaction to life.

It’s kind of what happened to my most recent mani. I merely wanted to test drive my new Konad nail stamping set (won it from Geek Girl Manila!) and it turned out to be better than I expected! I’ll make a formal review of the stamping set soon, but I wanted to show you my first-ish attempt at nail stamping.

As base I used Dazzle Dry Morning Dew. Let me show you this color, which I just swatched recently.

dddec11

For stamping, I used OMG Gold Digger. As I mentioned in my swatch post, this is one of the thickest formulas I encountered so far, which led me to decide on using this as the stamping polish. It took several tries, but I finally got the hang of the stamping process. Here’s how it turned out, after applying top coat.

brocadenails1

Not that bad eh? I thought it looked very much like green brocade, like this.

Image credits: Everything Indian Etsy Shop

I love how things turn out for the best. My practice stamping created a brocade-like pattern and color that I didn’t really plan on. Here are some more shots of the nails.

brocadenails2 brocadenails3 brocadenails4

8 Responses to "Nails: Inadvertent Brocade"

Great job! Stamping can be tricky at first but it is so fun and easy when you get used to it and have the right tools. I love gold digger f

Oops… I was saying I love gold digger for stamping too. Do you have a squishy stamper head? Or the hard pink one?

Gold digger is surprisingly really good for stamping! I have the Konad double ended one, so I may have both? 😛 I’ll do a review of the stamping kit soon!

Looks great! I’m hopeless at doing my nails so I really admire it when people take the time to do it.

I’m enjoying it! I see it as an avenue for expressing myself. I do wish I had all the time in the world to explore more nail art! I too was hopeless at first but I really enjoyed it and eventually became better. You can too!

I love them ❤

Green is my fav colour!

Thank you! We have the same favorite!

[…] here is my first attempt. I used the m57 plate for the gold splotches. The base polish is Dazzle Dry Morning Dew and the […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 105,538 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
