Becoming Sleek

Nails: Girlstuff Going Green

Posted on: November 18, 2013

In my October haul I bought this Girlstuff Nail Polish in Going Green at the SM North Department Store for Php99. It’s a pretty bright leafy green.

hauloct06

The formula seems good, and applied evenly. I used two coats for this swatch, no top coat.

goinggreen1

I also bought this gold striping tape, this time from the SM Megamall kiosk for Php50.

hauloct04 hauloct03

I decided to give it a shot and did a gold-and-green mani to show it off.

goinggreen2

I used two stripes on each finger (except ring). I applied it on after the nail polish dried, and cut it off using some sharp scissors. As expected, I could only do this for my left hand. I used Essence Gold Fever for the accent nail on my left hand, and all nails on the right.

goinggreen3

I would say that Girlstuff Going Green is a really great nail polish. Except that when I took it off two days later, this happened:

goinggreen4

I think that this particular polish has some strange staining ingredient in it, and made all ten of my fingernails look sick and ugly. I did use a base coat to protect my nails (Dazzle Dry Base Coat) but it didn’t help much in this case. If you guys know how to remove the stains, please let me know!

4 Responses to "Nails: Girlstuff Going Green"

Ooh no, even with a base coat? 😦

Yeah. 😦 I almost cried when I saw it. I haven’t found a way to remove the stains, so I will have to keep my nails painted until the stains grow out. 😦 😦 😦

I haven’t tried it, but I have read that you can remove stains using a paste with baking soda and a little bit of water. I think you mix the paste, then cover your nails with a generous amount of it and let it set for 10 minutes or more. Then rinse with water and the stains should be gone. I’ve been meaning to try this since a polish I used recently stained my nails, too. Just didn’t have any baking soda lying around. Hope it works!

Wow that’s such a great tip! I’ll give it a shot and report back to you. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 113,333 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
