Becoming Sleek

Unboxing the September Glamourbox: Beauty SOS

Posted on: October 2, 2013

beautysos01

As one last hurrah for September, Glamourbox sent the much awaited Beauty SOS box last week. This box contains products that aim to address specific skin troubles such as zits, dull skin, and sparse lashes. Let’s take a look at what’s inside.

Warning: Photo-intensive post ahead! [You can click on each photo for a bigger size.]

beautysos02beautysos19

The usual sturdy box greets us, along with the welcome card bearing the theme, and underneath is a glimpse of what’s to come. I will present these in the order stated in the welcome card.

beautysos03

The first product is called Rejuvalash Eyelash Growth Serum. I’ve never been a believer of lash serums, thinking that the lashes you are born with are the lashes you will have until death. Maybe this one will change my mind, I think I’ll give this a chance. Goodness knows I don’t have full lashes (but my daughter does! lucky her!) so I can use some growth. I will report back on how this performs for me. The ingredients for this are: Enzyme EPM containing 10 amino acids, Vitamin E, Vitamin C, and sterilized moisture. This is probably a full sized product, 5ml, which costs Php2860 (wow).

beautysos05 beautysos06 beautysos07

The second one is Kanebo Impress Advanced CT Essence, an anti-aging serum containing carnitine to repair all skin damage. A pretty big boast, to be honest. I am all for anti-aging, since I’m already at the age where I should start investing in it, so I shall give this a try. Unfortunately we are provided only two tiny sachets of 0.4ml each, so hopefully that is enough to give us a good impression. The full 40ml bottle costs a whopping Php12000! The sachets therefore costs Php120 each (whoa).

beautysos04

Next we have Avon Genics Gen-Protect SPF15 Treatment. It is a facial lotion with SPF, and has a bit of anti-aging properties as well. It claims to undo 10 years off the skin in just 8 weeks. Thankfully we received a full bottle so we can try this out properly. It’s meant to be used in the morning after cleansing. The 30-ml bottle costs Php1299.

beautysos08 beautysos09 beautysos10

Next is my favorite in the box. It is VMV Hypoallergenics Id Monolaurin Gel. This is meant to address acne and prevents over-sweating. It can be used for both face and body. I’ve always been a fan of VMV as it is one of the friendliest to sensitive skin. The full size, 120ml, costs Php710. We’ve been given a trial sample of 50ml (generous!) so this costs about Php295.

beautysos11

The next item is my second favorite, and is the only makeup product in the box. It is an Ofra Lipstick in #202 (red). I was super excited about this because Glamourbox teased us with a photo, and I fell in love with it. The tube is smaller than the usual lipstick tubes, but it contains the standard 4g of product. I am starting to love red lippies, and this one seems like a good one to start with. This costs Php650.

beautysos14 beautysos15 beautysos16

Last on the list of regular items is Saforelle Gentle Cleansing Care, which is actually a gentle intimate wash. I’m not really into intimate washes (I just use water!) so I’m a little unexcited about this product. This is a full 100ml bottle which costs Php159.75.

beautysos12 beautysos13

Luckily enough I was one of the first 150 subscribers to the Beauty SOS box and thus qualified to receive the bonus item. It is Mustela Stelatopia Emollient Cream, a cream cleanser for dry, atopic skin. It can be used on the face and body to nourish the skin and alleviate itching. It’s supposed to be great for sensitive skin! The full size, 200ml, costs Php1190 (Mustela isn’t cheap), so this 10ml sampler costs Php59.50.

beautysos17 beautysos18

There is also a good amount of vouchers included in this box. Going clockwise from the top we have: 1. 10% off voucher for Anma Lifestyle travel accessories (FB store) valid until December 2013; 2. This isn’t really a voucher, but Saforelle gives you a chance to win free products in exchange for feedback; 3. 500 peso discount voucher for Soleo Swimwear (FB store) for a minimum purchase of Php1350; 4. Vouchers for VMV products (25% off on select products, or free shipping plus 2 deluxe minis for a Php2000 purchase) valid until December 31, 2013, applicable only on the online store; 5. Free bikini waxing service from Lay Bare Waxing Salon, valid until November 30, 2013; 6. Complimentary Nail Art (Caviar, Velvet, and Foil) from PoshNails Marikina branch valid until November 30, 2013.

beautysos20

These are pretty significant vouchers! I will probably try to maximize these and use up as much of it as I can.

beautysos21

My impression of the Beauty SOS September Glamourbox: I love this box! Firstly it introduces a lot of unfamiliar (to me) brands. I enjoy checking out brands I’ve never heard of before, which is really the main point of subscription boxes tbh. Secondly most of the items in this box are usable, and may in fact be needed since my skin needs a little bit more pampering lately.  Thirdly wow at all those vouchers! I am starting to change my mind about vouchers, and I love the fact that Glamourbox treats these as pure bonuses (ie, not included in their welcome card). This is such a sulit box!

Value review: The total value of this box is about Php5500, including the bonus item but excluding the voucher values. This is almost ten times (!!!) the value of the subscription, holy smokes! To be fair, more than half of that is just in the eyelash serum. On the other hand most of the products are full sized, and the voucher values are just amazing.

8 Responses to "Unboxing the September Glamourbox: Beauty SOS"

I am actually not really happy about the Beauty SOS box. First of all, I received mine late. Second, I just found the products in the box okay. I didn’t even like the lipstick I got. I wanted the red one like yours but I got a light pink one which I don’t think looks good on me. 😦

Aw that’s sad to know. Late deliveries really ruin things, not to mention the wrong lipstick color! I felt this way about the bonus lipstick from the september bdj box. 😦 Hopefully the next GB goes better for you.

So curious about the Monolaurin! It took me ages to fniish my BDJ unboxing so I’m just starting wtih my box right now.

Haven’t tried that yet, either. I’m hoping I never do, but in the event I get a new plague of the acne I am ready for it!

It is indeed a good box since I discovered new brands and products. I’m not much in the beauty scene and this helped out a lot!

I love discovering new brands too! Very enlightening!

[…] I unboxed this last month (Glamourbox Beauty SOS) I didn’t really give this a big deal. Fortunately it turned out to be a really good day […]

[…] I purchased from Shayne, and this is the other shade sent out in the September 2013 Glamourbox (Beauty SOS). I got the red one (Ofra #202) and I wanted to try out this one so badly. Thankfully Shayne sold […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 107,696 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
