Becoming Sleek

Tutorial: Everyday Purple

Posted on: August 21, 2013

Welcome to my first ever makeup tutorial! This was to have been my entry to the Avon blogger challenge but I finished it too late and didn’t make it to the deadline. I’d share it anyway! Here goes!

This tutorial is basically how to use the Avon True Color Eyeshadow Quad in Purple Pop, which I got in my awesome Avon Glamourbox. Check out this palette again. Note that there are numbers imprinted upon the four colors, and I will be mentioning these numbers in my tutorial.

avoneye02

Before we start, make sure to prep the face and eyes. I would usually apply my day cream/SPF, face primer, and eye primer before starting on any part of the make up. Note here that my eyebrows are already done, because that’s usually the first thing I tackle after putting on BB cream or foundation.

avoneye01avoneye03

1. Line the eyes.

Using shade #4 (darkest purple), line the eyes starting from the inner corner going outwards. Here I used my Artist Studio eyeliner brush.

avoneye04

avoneye08

Continue the line until you reach the outer corner. As this is an everyday look, we will stop at the corner and not do anything drastic.

avoneye05

Do the same for the other eye.

avoneye06 avoneye07

2. Apply first color.

Using an eyeshadow brush (here I used Artist Studio eyeshadow brush), apply shade #1 (the lightest purple) all over the lid. Do the same for both eyes.

avoneye09avoneye10 avoneye11

3. Apply second color.

Using the same eyeshadow brush (tap off the excess color #1), pick up shade #2 (the pinkish purple) and apply it on the outer half of the lid, overlapping shade #1. Do this for both eyes.

avoneye12 avoneye13

4. Blend.

Using a blending brush (here I used the Artist Studio blending brush), blend #1 and #2 together in a nice gradient by stroking the brush gently in a horizontal manner.

avoneye14avoneye16

5. Apply mascara.

Apply your chosen mascara to emphasize the eyelashes. Here I used Avon Supershock Max Waterproof Mascara in Black, which made my lashes look fuller and longer.

avoneye15

And there we have it! The complete everyday purple look using the Avon eyeshadow quad.

avoneye17 avoneye18

What do you think? Do you like the look?

7 Responses to "Tutorial: Everyday Purple"

I can’t work this properly yet but I’m glad that you were able to use it. I find it cute but a little lacking in pigment. Still figuring out what I think of it, hehehe.

Haha well it is a kind of tricky palette. Mostly for evening looks, I think.

pat your eye lids are so kpop 🙂 that means you can do kpop eye makeups! esp their cat eye liner style. im ingit ^^

Oooh I haven’t tried cat eyes yet, it’s very intimidating! Thanks Shayne! 😛

Been seeing these Avon quads a lot lately! This purple one, then there’s a candy-themed one and a neutral/smokey one, right? Your post reminded me to sport purple looks more often!

I’ve seen several variants of this, and I want to get them all! Haha! I really like how this applies.

[…] the bottom middle of my L.A. Colors eyeshadow palette as the lid wash, and the #2 shade from my Avon True Color Eyeshadow Quad in Purple Pop for the outer corner and […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 113,333 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
