Becoming Sleek

Nails: Lesson #4 Gradient

Posted on: July 29, 2013

My next lesson in my nail art journey is my first attempt at gradients. From my research online, I determined that gradients are done with these steps:

  1. Prep nails and paint a white layer on them. (Note: it may or may not involve applying petroleum jelly on the skin around the nails)
  2. Paint adjacent stripes of compatible colors of lacquer on a small damp sponge.
  3. Press the sponge across the nail (one nail at a time!) gently from one side to the other. Do this several times to achieve the color depth desired.
  4. Clean up the skin around the nail with nail polish remover.
  5. Apply desired top coat.

I followed these steps and used the following Dazzle Dry colors: White Lightning for the base, Lavender Parade and Heart of Fire for the gradient. Initially I wanted to use Strawberry Macaron instead of Heart of Fire for a more pastel gradient, but the baby pink wouldn’t be seen when pressed on by a sponge.

Here’s how it turned out.

gradient1 gradient3

The sponge I used is one of the small makeup sponges in the 5-minute Touch Up Kit from Nippon.

gradient5 gradient6

I used petroleum jelly when I did my left hand (using my dominant right), and I thought that it didn’t help make removing the lacquer any easier. Boy was I wrong! When I did my right hand with my non-dominant left, it took me hours to do the clean up! So my advice is DO NOT skip the petroleum jelly.

gradient2 gradient4

It will probably be some time before I attempt a gradient again. Or, I’ll find a faster way of doing gradients without the hours of cleanup required. How do you do your gradients? I’d love to learn from you!

6 Responses to "Nails: Lesson #4 Gradient"

Oooh this is your best so far πŸ™‚ The purple came out so great, almost looks marblized πŸ™‚

Thanks Tellie! πŸ™‚ This is by far also the most difficult haha πŸ˜€

very nice! πŸ™‚ ive been wanting to do a gradient nail art too pero mukang matagal before i can try it. nice color selection pat πŸ˜€

Thanks Shayne! It really is quite eyecatching, but it’s really hard to do. 😦 Can’t wait to see yours! πŸ™‚

Hi! Thanks for your comment on my blog! I’m always so excited to find other nail junkies in the Philippines.

Great job on the gradient. It really can make a huge mess noh? The way I do my gradients now is after applying my base color (which is the lightest color I will use in the gradient) I place tape all over the cuticle area to minimize polish on the skin. It makes a big difference in the cleanup time. I then use the same kind of sponge you do but I place dabs of each color in the gradient side by side on a surface (plastic or glass) and dab the sponge on the surface to blend the colors well and then apply the sponge to the nail. So far that’s the best technique from my experience. πŸ™‚ I have to be careful when I remove the tape so I don’t damage my gradient. Do check out the gradients on my blog. I hope that helps. Gradients are so much fun and can be easy when you find a system that works for you. I hope you can try again soon. God bless!
Rach aka the nailinator

Thanks for visiting Rach! And super thanks on the tip! Maybe it’s not so bad and I’ve just been doing it wrong. πŸ˜€ I’ll check out your gradients for inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 107,686 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
