Becoming Sleek

Unboxing the July BDJBox

Posted on: July 19, 2013

Oooh, a back-to-back unboxing! Welcome to my unboxing of the July BDJ Box, the last box in my quarterly subscription. Wanna see what’s inside? Come take a look!

Warning: Photo-intensive post ahead. [You can click on each image to make it larger.]

First of all, the package came in an unusually large box. I wasn’t able to get a picture, but the usual BDJ Box was accompanied by a nondescript white soft cardboard box wrapped with brown paper. It was heavy! I’ll show you what’s inside that box later.

As usual, upon opening the BDJ box we are greeted by the welcome cards and the inspirational stickers. There didn’t seem to be an official theme name, but I gather from the welcome card that this box is for “me time”. It’s for self pampering, and the products are made to reflect this.

julybdj01julybdj06

It was accompanied by a second welcome card which is exclusively from the brand Dove. I grew up with Dove and to me the name suggests gentle soaps that will not irritate skin. BDJ included a whole range of full-sized (!!!) Dove products with this month’s box for us bellas to try. This apparently is what is inside that white box.

julybdj02

The third welcome card is an announcement regarding the BDJbox website revamp. They will be opening their online store soon! I’m excited to see what they will be offering.

julybdj04

Here are the backs of these three cards (click to embiggen).

julybdj03 julybdj26 julybdj05

Let’s move on to the contents of the boxes! First let’s tackle the usual BDJ box. This is in the order listed in the first welcome card.

First up we have the largest item in the box: Beach Hut Sunblock. It’s in an aerolyzed form which means it’s a spray-on type of sunblock. It makes application very easy and fast, and it has pretty good spf (SPF75, PA++). No more excuse to skip the sunblock even in the rainy season, especially if you expect to be out in the sun for a significant part of the day. I like Beach Hut and I don’t mind receiving this one at all. It’s definitely full sized, and costs Php399.

julybdj08

The next three items are makeup! Woo hoo! This first item is Too Cool for School BB Cream. Have I already mentioned that I am addicted to BB creams? I am so happy to receive this, and from a brand I have never tried too! I’ve been hearing a lot of good reviews of TCfS and I can’t wait to try this out. It is the travel-sized version (I can’t find how much product is in this tube) so it’s really cute and tiny. It comes sealed for your protection, and has a 12-month life upon opening. The full name of this item is actually TCfS After School BB Foundation Lunch Box with SPF37/PA++. A BB cream-foundation hybrid? Very intriguing! This costs Php219.

julybdj13 julybdj14 julybdj15

Next we have Enchanted Eyeshadow in After Midnight Smokey Eyes. It’s a 3-color eyeshadow palette which comes in a black plastic case with a nice big mirror and a two-ended sponge-tip wand. It promises to be long wearing. My palette comes in baby blue, light gray, and dark gray. Now that I have discovered a use for the darkest shadows (as eyeliner!), I am quite happy to receive this palette. I am an eyeshadow enthusiast and I never pass up the opportunity to learn more. This is also a brand I’ve never tried nor heard before. This palette costs Php179.

julybdj16 julybdj17 julybdj18 julybdj19 julybdj20

Lastly for the makeup items is Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in 075 Lollipop. This is my second Revlon lippie. This looks like it’s going to be a nice bright pink, and as it is lip butter I assume it will be quite moisturizing. This costs Php525.

julybdj09 julybdj10 julybdj11 julybdj12

Next we have a foot-pampering item, the Foot Appeal Mask. It is what they call peeling socks, which I assume will exfoliate the feet and reveal soft new skin. I haven’t tried anything like this before, so this is bound to be an interesting experience. This pack costs Php279.

julybdj21 julybdj22

Lastly we have a Sure Slim Voucher. Forgive me if I don’t sound excited about this, because I’m not. This is the third voucher I received for the same service and I still don’t intend to use it. What is weird in this iteration is that it’s included as an actual item according to the welcome card, and is assigned a value of Php1500 (since it’s Php1500 off for the weightloss program).

julybdj23

Before I move on to my impressions of this box and the value review, let me present to you the contents of the Dove box. It contains eight full sized items: (2x) Damage Therapy Intense Repair Shampoo (180ml, Php106 each), (2x) Damage Therapy Intense Repair Conditioner (180ml, Php108 each), Damage Therapy Intense Repair Treatment Mask (200ml, Php235), White Beauty Bar Moisturizing Milk (135g, Php52.50), Whitening Original Anti-Perspirant Deodorant Roll-on (40ml, Php83.50), and Whitening Original Anti-Perspirant Deodorant Aerosol (169ml, Php170). Quite a huge haul! As I have received the L’Oreal set last month, I will probably not need hair care for the rest of the year.

julybdj24 julybdj25

My impressions of the July BDJBox: What I like about this box is the amount of makeup products. I love receiving new items to try, and I like the fact that two of the three are brands I haven’t tried before. I also don’t mind receiving the Dove pack, since I like the brand. The only thing I have against it is that it’s a household name and is pretty much known everywhere. It’s just fortunate that I’ve never tried the hair care line so this is a good opportunity to do so.

Value review: The total value of this month’s box is Php2570, including the Dove pack but excluding the voucher. (I refuse to include voucher values!) This is over four times the value of the subscription cost of Php580! The Dove pack alone is worth Php969 already. Subscription is still quite worth it!

Did you get a July box? What are your thoughts about it?

3 Responses to "Unboxing the July BDJBox"

HAH! Got mine today so I can check yours na…. I got a diff shade of the Revlon Lip butter and the eye shadow.. I prefer yours (smokey) over mine (lilac) but everything else is good. Fave would be tcfs and lip butter 🙂

I guess I’m glad I got the smokey since I have about 3 purple palettes na! Yette got a nude palette though, I think I’d have preferred that. What shade is your lip butter?

[…] received my first (and only, so far!) lip butter in the July BDJ Box, the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in the shade Lollipop. It took me quite some time to review and […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 110,767 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
