Becoming Sleek

Review: Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base

Posted on: July 8, 2013

On one of my recent hauls I was able to find the brand Essence at SM Makati. I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base is on my wish list, and therefore one of the two items I bought from that brand. I’ve been reading a lot of good reviews of this product, and since I am quite the eye makeup enthusiast I thought it’d be a great item to try. This costs Php189.

essenceilstage1This has 4ml of product housed in a plastic tube about 2-2.5 inches long. It has a 6-month shelf life upon opening.

mayjunehaul08It has a doe foot applicator which so far seems pretty effective in scooping out product. I use one dab on each eyelid.

essenceilstage2 essenceilstage3The point of this product is to prolong and intensify eyeshadows and eyeliners. I found that an additional benefit to using this eyeshadow base is to even out the color of the eyelid. Since I have yellowish eyelids this is a great feature. Check out how it performs on my lids. Bare lids below. Notice the dark circles in my undereyes and yellowish lids.

essenceilstage4Two dabs of product on the lid. This is actually too much, one dab is enough.

essenceilstage5Product blended out. Check out the contrast with the other eyelid.

essenceilstage6It somehow acts like a concealer for the lids as well. Upon application my lids now has the same color as the rest of my face, and I look less stressed and more awake. I put some of my palest green eyeshadows to see how it would contrast when used with and without primer.

essenceilstage7It’s not that evident in this picture, but what happened here is that the eyeshadow adhered to my primed eyelid better. When applied on the unprimed one, it just slid around and got deposited on the outer corner.

Pros: affordable; effective; doubles as concealer/corrector for eyelids; didn’t break me out

Cons: limited availability

Have you tried this product? If so how did it perform for you? Have you tried other Essence products? I’d love to hear your feedback!

16 Responses to "Review: Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base"

This looks interesting. Would love to give this product a try and it’s a plus that it’s inexpensive. Great find! 😀

Do give it a try! I think it’s very worth it. 🙂

That’s really inexpensive. How long did it take til your eyeshadow creased? 🙂

It doesn’t usually crease (or just very minimal creasing) by the time I get home. That’s about 8-9 hours after application!

that’s called a doe foot applicator pala ^^ my word of the day hehe ❤

Haha me too! I had to research what that wand is called before I posted this. 😛

I started using eyelid primer out of curiosity, because I did a cosplay that required very heavy, dark eye makeup. Now I use it every day, because none of my shadows crease, and my eye makeup stays bright and fresh looking all day! That was definitely one of my favorite makeup discoveries.

It’s a wonderful discovery! Very lucky that I found this. I’m also using it everyday.

I have been wanting to try this base. I love most of Essence’s products. Great post! 🙂

Thanks! I’d like to try some more of essence’s products, great reviews everywhere!

[…] 1. [Eyes] Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base […]

[…] In2It Eyebrow Powder in Eyebrowns Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base Ellefar Princess Chifon Eyeshadow Palette in Twilight (upper right) Nichido Naturally Beautiful […]

[…] In2It Eyebrow Powder in Eyebrowns Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base Saizen Eye Shadow in Brown Benefit They’re Real […]

[…] In2It Eyebrow Powder in Eyebrowns Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base Saizen Eye Shadow in Brown Saizen Crystal Cream Eyecolor in […]

[…] In2It Eyebrow Powder in Eyebrowns Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base Silk Naturals Mineral Eyeshadow in Sonic, Charmed, and Thistle NYX Eye Pencil in […]

[…] In2It Eyebrow Powder in Eyebrowns Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base Avon True Color Eyeshadow Quad LA Colors eyeshadow palette Benefit They’re Real […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 110,955 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
