Becoming Sleek

Nails: White Stripes

Posted on: June 28, 2013

As an extension of Lesson #2, I decided to do a mani with more lines. For this I used Dazzle Dry Heart of Fire as base and White Lightning for the stripes.

whitestripes1

First I used two coats of Heart of Fire as base. Using my detailing brush I painted three lines using White Lightning on the accent nail. I had to do each line twice to make it more solid.

whitestripes2I’m starting to think that using nail polish to make non-dot designs is not really viable. Either that or my brush isn’t that good. I find that I need to go over the lines more than once to make it opaque enough, and that leads to these really thick lines. I will not be able to make other kinds of art like drawings if the lines will be this thick. I’m considering using acrylic paint, following what Rina does. We shall see!

3 Responses to "Nails: White Stripes"

hi 🙂 have you tried using tape to create the lines? i heard some girls are using this technique. i’d like to try it too

Hi Shayne! Yes I’ve tried it and it didn’t work so well. I haven’t tried it again recently with Dazzle Dry lacquers though. I’ll put up a post once I get a nice mani out of it. 😛

Try a toothpick? It looks like the brush is pretty inconsistent, but the nail gurus I used to follow would sometimes use acrylic paint. I guess it’s easier to manage.

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 113,333 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
