Becoming Sleek

Unboxing the first BDJ Box Elite

Posted on: June 22, 2013

BDJ released their first Elite BDJ Box (Summer Indulgence) about a couple of months ago. I didn’t sign up for it because I couldn’t afford it at the time. Fortunately, Martha (The Beauty Junkee) hosted a contest in instagram with an Elite box for a prize, and I won it!

Even if there are already lots of unboxing posts of it, I’m still going to post mine as well as my thoughts on each item.

Warning: Photo-intensive post ahead!

bdjelite01

The box is much bigger than the regular BDJ box, but it still has the distinctive BDJ logo and design.

bdjelite02

That premium box feeling extends when you open it. Instead of the stiff paper sleeve you get a pink cloth sleeve. And instead of the standard welcome card, you get a pack of product cards that describe each item in detail.

bdjelite18 bdjelite17

Very elegant looking cards.

bdjelite03

This is what you see upon opening the box. Lots of interesting items going on here! Let’s go left to right.

bdjelite06

First up we see a familiar item. This is the 100ml version of Celeteque Advanced Anti-Aging Anti-Wrinkle Ultra-Hydrating Cleansing Oil (whew!). As you well know I am a huge fan of Celeteque, so I am very glad to get this. According to its card it costs Php599, but on Celeteque’s website it costs only Php369.

bdjelite08

Next we come to a pair of Davines hair products. This is the Nounou Shampoo which is made for color-treated hair. Unfortunately I don’t have colored hair, so I might not be able to use this. Or, maybe this means I should go out and have it colored! This item is a 75ml sample, which costs Php306.30 (full size 250ml, Php1020).

bdjelite09

And we also get the matching Nounou Conditioner, still for color-treated hair. It’s again 75ml, Php325.83 cost (full size is 250ml, Php1085).

bdjelite14 bdjelite15

For the first time, I am not displeased on getting a perfume sample. This one is Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy La Fleur. Check out that bottle! It looks pretty fancy, and the scent is very pleasant as well. This is a 5ml sample, which costs Php186.67 (full size 150ml, Php5600). Its corresponding product card carries a voucher that allows one to get a free Juicy Couture goody bag with Php4000 worth of items when purchasing 100ml/150ml of any JC fragrance at Rustan’s Makati. Unfortunately it only had 1 month validity and has expired last June 1.

bdjelite10

This next one is a sample tube of Ahava Essential Day Moisturizer. I have heard a lot of good things about Ahava, and I am looking forward to trying this out. There were some Ahava samples released by Sample Room but I wasn’t able to catch any of it, so it’s great that BDJ has one in the elite box. This is a 15ml sample, which costs Php448.95 (full size 50ml, Php1495).

bdjelite04 bdjelite05

This one is the most controversial item in the box, as I’ve read in other blogs that this expires soon. This is ISkin New York Daily Sunshield SPF25. Of course I lost no time trying this out and used this as my main sunshield for a few days. Unfortunately my sensitive skin reacted to it and made my face itchy and red. I’ll give this to my mom as she has a more robust skin. This is a full sized tube of 57g, and costs Php2900.

bdjelite07

This one is a full sized tube of Neutrogena Ultra-Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF50. According to its product card this can be used for both the face and body. Too bad as we’re firmly into the rainy season these days, but I will definitely keep this for my next outings. This 88ml tube costs Php509.25.

bdjelite11 bdjelite12 bdjelite13

I’m quite happy that there is one makeup item in here, and it happens to be a lipstick! I got Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Suede Lipstick in 045 Supermodel. I am so pumped up about this! I’ve been seeing posters of Olivia Wilde wearing them and I wanted to try them out. Supermodel is a deep mauve shade. This lipstick costs Php575.

bdjelite16

Lastly we get a SureSlim voucher, which we saw before. It’s basically the same thing except this time it’s only Php1500 off.

My impressions of the BDJ Elite Box Summer Indulgence: On the overall this is a very sulit box, with a pretty varied range of brands. In particular I love getting the Revlon lipstick, the Ahava moisturizer, and the JC fragrance. It’s just that the Davines hair products are not for my hair type, which is the secondary reason why I didn’t buy this box.

Value review: For some reason the printed costs on the card for the sample sized items were mostly incorrect, if basing the sample’s cost on the full sized item’s price. The sample prices I put here are the ones I calculated, not the ones on the product cards. The total value of the items are Php5046, which is more than twice the cost of the subscription (Php1950). Unfortunately, almost half that cost is in only one item (ISkin sunblock). The ones I was really interested in costs a total of only Php1210.62, which wouldn’t have justified the subscription price.

I’m quite lucky to have own this box, and got to try these items for free. Thank you so much, Martha!

7 Responses to "Unboxing the first BDJ Box Elite"

Looking back, I realize I never really made it clear how disappointed I am with this. Most of the samples were premium size, not full-size, and that would certainly change my expectation levels with this box.

Hopefully the next elite box will be better. The nice thing about the elite box is that they release what products are being included so you can really judge the value before you buy.

i agree that receiving that juicy perfume sample is alright 🙂 the bottle is really cute. i’m still trying to pick which of the subscription boxes should i get for next month 🙂 thanks for sharing this

BDJ is a solid choice, however they run out of boxes pretty quickly. For example, they’re already sold out for the July boxes, and is open for August boxes now.

Glamourbox is great too but they are no longer a monthly subscription. Do check out their FB/twitter pages for updates on when they open subscriptions.

Saladbox I heard is pretty spotty.

Orangebox looks to be a good one, but I haven’t tried it personally yet.

Let me know which you signed up for! 🙂

[…] of the best items I received in the BDJ Elite Box is the Revlon Ultimate Suede Lipstick. The shade I got is 045 Supermodel, which is mostly an MLBB […]

[…] this. It’s a good thing it’s a different product than the one I received with the BDJ Elite Box. I think this one is more moisturizing than the Dry-Touch. This is a full sized tube, 30ml, and […]

[…] heard that right. This Elite Box does not actually come with the big elite box that I got for the first one. It came in with a cardboard sleeve, and a humongous black pouch! The pouch is bigger than I […]

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 105,538 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
