Becoming Sleek

Nails: Looking for the perfect neutral

Posted on: January 14, 2013

One of the most needed tools of someone who uses nail polish is a good and reliable neutral shade – something that’s not loud, something that’s office-appropriate, and something that works. As I am just starting out in the lacquer world, I tried out two inexpensive brands for my neutral candidates.

First up: Caronia’s Touch of Tan. I found this in Shopwise for Php47.

neutralpolish3

Caronia is a pretty solid polish brand, and I have no doubts that this will perform well. The brush and formula are both good and serviceable. Let’s move on to the swatch.

neutralpolish4

neutralpolish5

neutralpolish6

It’s not a bad shade, and it seems to match my skin tone well. Topped with Caronia’s Top Coat, it was initially glossy but after it dried it turned semi-matte for some reason. I have no problems with that, except I would prefer either a full matte or a full glossy.

The second brand I tried is a rather unknown brand, Colour Trends. I found this also in Shopwise, for an almost unbelievable price of just Php20! It’s not as small as the other Php20 brand I previously featured (Sassy) and I deemed it cheap enough to buy three or four bottles of it (different shades). Unfortunately the brand seems to have only numbers to denote their shades. The one I used for this neutral test is 117.

neutralpolish1neutralpolish2

I love the formula of the 117 Colour Trends! It comes on creamy and glides on smoothly. The brush wasn’t remarkable. Here is the swatch:

colorblends1

colorblends2

Compared to Touch of Tan, 117 is a bit less brown and more yellowish. Topped with the same top coat, it came out glossy. I like this shade more than Touch of Tan, mostly because it stands out a bit more out of my fingers. The fact that it’s fully glossy also adds to this preference. The price is the cream on top. I intend to find more bottles of this!

To conclude this post, I think I found two serviceable neutrals. I do like 117 better, but Touch of Tan still has a place in my collection.

4 Responses to "Nails: Looking for the perfect neutral"

[…] my last post I featured the nude shade of Color Trends. I would like to show you the swatches of the other two […]

Hi!

This is from Caronia Philippines. We have other neutral shades that we’d love to have you try 🙂

We can send you samples if you want

Thank you! I love neutral tones on my nails. I would definitely love to give other neutral shades a try!

Pls email your full name, mailing address, and mobile number to us at caronia@vibelle.com so we can send you the samples 🙂

Leave a Reply

Who is Becoming Sleek?

A Filipino blogger interested in all things makeup, skincare, and nail polish. She may or may not also be interested in crafting, cats, and food.

Enter your email address to follow Becoming Sleek and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 629 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Lazada Philippines
Fashion & Beauty - Top Blogs Philippines

Blog Stats

  • 113,388 hits
RSS, Twitter, and Facebook icons from YOOtheme
